After the five countries signed the Bangkok Declaration in 1967, five other countries in Southeast Asia joined the Association: Brunei Darussalam became a member on 7 January 1984, Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997 and Cambodia on 30 April 1999.  As a precursor to the expansion of ASEAN to include the current ten Member States, the first ever Summit of these ten Southeast Asian countries or the SEA-10 Summit was held in Bangkok in 1995, signifying the coming together of Southeast Asian countries. ASEAN is also considering the application of Timor-Leste to become a member.